A Wonderful Wait

Water: warm water from the tap in a rush and I push the force back with a touch.  One glass of wine – one is enough to take the edge to a smooth painless slide.

The water warm soaking the cloth and the soap, creamy smooth along my face, neck, hands and glides.  I wipe away the sand, powder fine, a day’s worries gone.

I light the candles while I wash – unlike the morning – the sharp heat of shower and light, the evening is soft and slow and though tired I seem younger somehow.

No, no I’m not disillusioned, I’m fine with 49 and I’ll be better with 50.  The skin is still soft and my senses even more refined  – I have less reason to hurry, no excuse to miss detail.

Warm cloth, wet and then pull in the cooler evening air, flickering light and music everywhere.  Bliss.

A space my own, cluttered and cleaned and set to right – projects and poetry and novels to write.  Cloth warm on cooled skin, tightens cold and waits for him.   A wonderful wait.

3 thoughts on “A Wonderful Wait”

  1. Oh such bliss… “projects and poetry and novels waiting to be written, cloth warm on cooled skin, while waiting for him…. a wonderful wait”… knowing the waiting will end. And indeed the glass of wine is “enough to take the edge to a smooth painless glid” — such wonderful thoughts and words on a cool autumn evening.

    1. I really like this one – but not for a specific emotion – I was thinking of the Bible passage where Jesus speaks of the women who wait for the bridegroom – those who are prepared and those who are not. Such anticipation and care were taken by some women. But I won’t deny that the work is also very much concerned with earthly love as well – the anticipation of the lover etc. I love melding those concepts together, like expanded breathing if that makes sense – the detailed and the God sized both well synced. At any rate I felt that I need to write about the bridegroom, there is a work in me yet about his beauty, his delay, the joyful anticipation – that indeed the bride (in white of course) needs to fade, not be on the pedestal as much – that she is not the completer but she waits with joy. Now of course if anyone reads this I’ll be driven to the stake and set alight for such stone-aged and un-feminist sentiment – but perhaps you know what I mean.

      1. hahaha. of course I know what you mean. I love the way you relate this to the women with their lamps waiting for the bridegroom. That is so profound, Sandy… and of course, I can see that it can be conceived as “unfeminist”, but Jesus, of all people, was the most feminist of them all… if only people understood this. This is really good work, Sandy. I know and anticipate this work (if not already)… to be published. Sigh… I wish I had a whole lot more time to read your work… but will work with what I have! My schedule in this present earthly life is crazy! It’s great to know I have a smorgasbord of literature to read in your blog!

Leave a Reply

